The Municipality of Rethymno consistis of 20 settlements (after the application of the Kapodistrias plan) 16 of which have been declared traditional. Within its borders there is a large number of archaeological monuments and traditional buildings of great value, many of which have not yet been officially registered.

The city of Rethymno is a small city which preserves a vivid medieval-renaissance color. The old, but exceptionally preserved city center is located beneath the walls of its sleepless guard, the Venetian Fortezza fortress. The coastline of the Municipality of Rethymno is characterized by the beautiful sandy beach, the clean sea, the Venetian port, the picturesque alleys and the openhearted citizens.


26 May 2024
Rethymno Carnival! (481)